What's New - September 2018

Microsoft Office 365

Docusnap can now also inventory Microsoft Office 365 from the cloud. Information such as users, groups and licenses are collected and mapped in Docusnap. Further information can be found in the current Microsoft Office 365 Inventory HowTo.

Microsoft Azure

The Microsoft Azure inventory has been extended. The Web Apps available in Azure are now also inventoried. There is no need to change the Azure Inventory settings or configurations. After installing the new Docusnap release and re-inventing Azure, the Web Apps are automatically inventoried.

IP Scanner

Docusnap has now also integrated an IP scanner functionality that extends the information for IP systems. In addition to the host name and the IP and Mac address, you can now also inventory the operating system, the manufacturer, the system family, the operating time, the last system start and the scan date.

Docusnap Discovery Service (DDS)

The Docusnap Discovery Services have received several helpful new features in this release. The installation of the Docusnap Discovery Services is now also possible unattended. In addition, we have implemented a command line interface (CLI), which you can use to configure and monitor the services conveniently. In this way you can, for example, also install and register the Discovery Services via your software distribution or corresponding scripts. If you want to create a large number of Docusnap Discovery Services, you no longer have to do this for each individual, but can create them all at once using a CSV file.

Detailed information about all new functions and their configuration can be found in the current HowTo Docusnap X Discovery Service – Installation und Configuration.

Inventories in the background

Interactively executed inventory jobs are now automatically moved to the background. Thus working in Docusnap during an inventory is still possible.

Optional inventory of connection information

Since Docusnap X, open connections on Windows, Linux and HP-UX systems are recorded via netstat during the inventory. The inventory of these open connections can now be deactivated.

Recursive listing of topology

Below a site, network, routing, topology and rack plans are available. Up to now, these plans have only taken into account the systems assigned to the selected site. From now on, you can optionally select for each of these plans whether the systems of the site are to be recursively resolved. This means that the sub-locations are also taken into account in the plans.

Revised job administration

The management of planned jobs in Docusnap X has been revised. In addition to performance improvements, you can now group entries, view job configuration data and check the status of an active job.

Changes in the user interface

The new release also introduces changes to the user interface. The controls for using script-based inventories have been grouped into a separate category. In addition, the IP Segments inventory wizard has been renamed to Windows (IP) to make it immediately visible that it is a Windows inventory via IP segments.

Menu

What's New - September 2018

Microsoft Office 365

Docusnap kann nun auch Microsoft Office 365 aus der Cloud inventarisieren. Dabei werden Informationen wie Benutzer, Gruppen und Lizenzen gesammelt und in Docusnap abgebildet. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie im aktuellen HowTo zur Microsoft Office 365 Inventarisierung.

Microsoft Azure

Die Microsoft Azure-Inventarisierung wurde erweitert. Es werden nun auch die in Azure verfügbaren Web Apps inventarisiert. An den Einstellungen oder Konfigurationen der Azure-Inventarisierung müssen Sie nichts anpassen. Nach der Installation des neuen Docusnap Releases und einer erneuten Inventarisierung von Azure werden automatisch auch die Web Apps inventarisiert.

IP-Scanner

Es wurde in Docusnap nun auch eine IP-Scanner-Funktionalität integriert, die die Informationen für IP-Systeme erweitert. Neben dem Hostnamen und der IP- und Mac-Adresse können Sie jetzt auch das Betriebssystem, den Hersteller, die Systemfamilie, die Betriebszeit, den letzten Systemstart und das Scandatum inventarisieren.

Docusnap Discovery Service (DDS)

Die Docusnap Discovery Services haben in diesem Release gleich mehrere hilfreiche Neuerungen erhalten. So ist die Installation der Docusnap Discovery Services nun auch unbeaufsichtigt möglich. Zusätzlich haben wir ein Command Line Interface (CLI) implementiert, worüber Sie die Services komfortabel konfigurieren und überwachen können. Auf diesem Weg können Sie zum Beispiel auch die Installation und Registrierung der Discovery Services über Ihre Softwareverteilung oder entsprechende Skripte durchführen. Wenn Sie eine große Anzahl an Docusnap Discovery Services anlegen wollen, müssen Sie das nicht mehr für jeden einzeln machen, sondern können alle auf einmal per CSV-Datei anlegen.

Ausführliche Informationen über alle neuen Funktionen und deren Konfiguration finden Sie im aktuellen HowTo Docusnap X Discovery Service – Installation und Konfiguration.

Inventarisierungen im Hintergrund

Interaktiv ausgeführte Inventarisierungsaufträge werden nun automatisch in den Hintergrund verschoben. Somit ist das Arbeiten in Docusnap während einer Inventarisierung weiterhin möglich.

Optionale Inventarisierung von Verbindungsinformationen

Seit Docusnap X werden bei Windows, Linux und HP-UX-Systemen während der Inventarisierung offene Verbindungen über netstat erfasst. Die Inventarisierung dieser offenen Verbindungen kann ab sofort deaktiviert werden.

Rekursive Auflistung der Topologie

Unterhalb eines Standortes stehen Ihnen Netzwerk-, Routing-, Topologie- und Rackpläne zur Verfügung. Diese Pläne haben bisher immer nur die zugewiesenen Systeme des ausgewählten Standorts berücksichtigt. Ab sofort können Sie bei jedem dieser Pläne optional auswählen, ob die Systeme des Standortes rekursiv aufgelöst werden sollen. Dadurch werden dann auch die Sub-Standorte in den Plänen berücksichtigt.

Überarbeitete Jobverwaltung

Die Verwaltung von geplanten Aufträgen in Docusnap X wurde überarbeitet. Neben Verbesserungen bei der Performance, können Sie die Einträge nun gruppieren, Konfigurationsdaten der Jobs einsehen sowie den Status eines aktiven Auftrags überprüfen.

Änderungen in der Benutzeroberfläche

Das neue Release bringt auch Änderungen im Bereich der Benutzeroberfläche mit sich. Die Steuerelemente zur Nutzung der skriptbasierten Inventarisierungen wurden in einer eigenen Kategorie zusammengefasst. Zudem wurde der Inventarisierungsassistent IP Segmente in Windows (IP) umbenannt, um sofort sichtbar zu machen, dass es sich um eine Windows-Inventarisierung via IP Segmente handelt.